Looking for some help getting some fairly hard-wearing smart office shoes (preferably UK)

Posted on

Wapmaxi Time To Change 2015
Looking for some help getting some fairly hard-wearing smart office shoes (preferably UK)
So I work in fairly smart office (dress code = shirt and tie mandatory, suit jacket when in any meetings). That means formal shoes all day every day. So I started off buying fairly cheap (about £20 [$25-30]) but fairly ok looking shoes for every day wear, and then when they inevitably broke after about 6 months I’d just replace them with more of the same.I decided to make a change and buy some nicer, but harder-wearing, office shoes. I thought I’d cracked it. I went to Doc Martens and bought a couple of pairs of these: http://www.drmartens.com/uk/p/15687202 (one in black, one in tan, depending on what suit I’m wearing).My feet hated me for a couple of weeks, but after I’d broken them in, I thought I’d cracked it. They were comfortable and they were Docs, so I knew they’d be hard-wearing.No such luck. After 6 months, both pairs split along the seam between the sole and the upper.I’ve got refunds for both, but I’m now at a loss. Are there any decent genuinely hard-wearing shoes I can get for every day office wear? The Docs I bought were probably about as… informal/non-traditional as I could go while still fitting in with the dress code, if that is a helpful guideline.I feel kind of once-bitten twice-shy over this. I’d much prefer to have a couple of pairs of good, hard-wearing shoes than just cycling through cheapo ones, but my faith in hard-wearing shoes has been shaken by just how quickly the Docs broke. I’ve had a look at Solovair, which also seem to make some nice stuff.Do people have any recommendations? Ideally, I’d want something that is available in England, has a fairly classic look, and is no more than about £150 per pair (that’s about $200 these days).
Mens Hair Styles 2015
Submitted by CB1984

Leave a Reply

